For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt.
Skip to main content
Version: 8.10 (unreleased)

Delete resources

Learn how to delete a specific process or decision definition version in Camunda 8 Operate.

Delete process definition

warning

Deleting a process definition permanently removes it and has the following effects:

  • All the deleted process definition's finished process instances will be deleted from the application.
  • All decision and process instances referenced by the deleted process instances will be deleted.
  • If a process definition contains user tasks, they will be deleted from Tasklist.

To delete a process definition from the Processes page, take the following steps:

  1. In the Filter panel, select a specific process version by filtering by process name and version. For detailed guidance on using filters, see filter process instances. Make sure the selected process definition version has no running instances, otherwise it is not possible to delete a process definition. You can cancel or resolve running process instances from the process instances list or from the process instance detail page.

The Processes page filter panel, with arrows pointing at the Process Name and Process Version fields.

  1. Click the Delete button at the top right.

The Processes page for a selected process, with an arrow pointing at the Delete link next to the Process ID.

  1. Confirm the delete operation by checking the checkbox and clicking Delete.

A confirmation modal for deleting a process definition, with a warning about the impact of deletion and a checkbox to confirm the deletion.

Delete decision definition

warning

Deleting a decision definition will delete the DRD and will impact the following:

  • Deleting a decision definition removes the DRD that contains it. All other decision tables and literal expressions that are part of the DRD will also be deleted.
  • Deleting the only existing version of a decision definition could result in process incidents.
  1. On the Decisions page, select a specific decision version by filtering by decision name and version. For detailed guidance on filtering, see filter process instances.

The Decisions page filter panel, with arrows pointing at the Decision Name and Decision Version fields.

  1. Click the Delete button at the top right.

A selected decision definition's page, with an arrow pointing at the Delete link next to the Decision ID.

  1. Confirm the delete operation by checking the checkbox and clicking Delete.

A confirmation modal for deleting a decision definition (DRD), with a warning about the impact of deletion and a checkbox to confirm the deletion.